I can not think about Easter without my insides knotting up and a lump welling up in my throat. I talk to Lauren about Jesus everyday. I always have, but now we can talk about Jesus together. It’s distinctly different. 

Last night, I got choked up explaining the cross to Lauren, and she asked why I was crying. All I could say was that I love Jesus so much and  just so thankful for the cross. She looked at me and said, “Ok momma.”

I was not looking for a deep theological response from my three year old. The ok lets me know she is listening. I know that at this age she understands the events as they are explained to her, she knows that I mean what I am saying, and she knows she can trust and accept what I say to her. I eagerly look forward to the day when we can talk about what Easter means as believers together. I look forward to seeing her overcome by her love for Jesus.

“…Death is swallowed up in victory. O death, where is your victory? O death, where is your sting? The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.  1 Corinthians 15:54-57

This verse makes me light up inside whenever I think about it, but as the day draws near that celebrates the moment of this victory, everything inside me raises up and cries out. I can not explain the gospel and hope of the cross without being undone. It raises up and lights up everything in me because it is by that power I have been sealed (Ephesians 1:13-14). 

I am also reminded of my great need. In my cup of wrath I had a list of things that were sure to cause me eternal separation from God, but by the reconciling power of the cross and the hope that rang out and the power that defeated sin and the grave, I live! I am covered. My debt is paid. My sin cast into the sea of forgetfulness. 

I never deserved it. I never could have earned it. I can only cherish it. In cherishing, you pursue. You pour into. You invest. You delight in. I am reminded that this truth is so dear to me that it stings to think about the actual cost to Christ, and I should think about that more. I should be captivated more. I should never be able to think about the work of the cross without being overcome and undone. If I can, then I need to be planted on my face in repentance. 

May I pursue Christ in His word. May I pursue Him more in prayer and conversation. May I never lose the wonder or the joy of delighting in my Savior. May sharing in this season of Easter celebration cause some new or renewed desire in us for more of Jesus Christ. 

I want to share the lyrics to one of my favorite songs ever, and also one of my favorite songs to hear at Easter. How I will miss hearing a wonderful woman named Sonya sing it this Easter!

Worthy Is the Lamb, Hillsong

Thank you for the cross, Lord. Thank you for the price you paid. Bearing all my sin and shame, in love you came and gave Amazing Grace. Thank you for this love, Lord. Thank you for the nail-pierced hands. Wash me in Your cleansing flow, now all I know is your forgiveness and embrace. Worthy is the Lamb, seated on the throne. We crown You now with many crowns, You reign victorious! High and lifted up Jesus, Son of God.The darling of Heaven, crucified. Worthy is the Lamb.

