“When Jesus had received the sour wine, he said, ‘It is finished,’ and he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.” John 19:30

I love Jesus. I love Him more than anything. I love the beauty of God’s love for me. I love that He always knew we would need a Savior, and that Jesus was obedient and loved me enough to endure all that He did. 

My salvation was bought at great cost to both God and Christ. God first by sending His own Son who was always with Him to certain pain and separation from His presence. That is the worst part of the cross to me. The physical demolishing of Christ’s body is beyond what my mind can comprehend, but considering that He endured the silence from heaven and separation from God so I would never have to overwhelms my soul. I deserved that. “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 6:23

I deserved death and to have my body destroyed and to experience the certain cost of my sin’s debt in hell FOREVER, but I also deserved to never know the love and presence of my beautiful God. I wonder if we would consider what we do and say more if we were constantly reflecting on the cost. 

“…but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God. For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. More than that, we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.” Romans 5:8-11

My soul is pouring out songs of thanksgiving this morning as Easter approaches, but there is also a question I have been struck with. Jesus paid it all, BUT are there things I am still putting myself in debt for?

I would ask anyone reading to consider this: are there places in your life or things that you allow yourself to be subject to shame and guilt for? If you have confessed these things, repented, and turned from them, then JESUS PAID FOR THEM. He took your guilt and shame of that sin and put it to death on the cross. He does not oppress us with guilt and shame. That feeling is from the enemy and not from God. There is a difference in knowing there is sin in your life you need to deal with than having the heavy weight of being consumed with guilt and shame sink you. “For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.” Galatians 5:1

Christ set you free, if He is your Savior, and He did it once and for all. Do not try to pay a price you never could by being consumed by lies or being unwilling to accept what He has accomplished. If you could have won your own salvation, the cross was a waste. We needed Jesus before we drew our first breath, and He came looking down through time knowing and choosing to love you more than anyone else could or ever can. 

Do not choose to be in debt when Jesus loved you enough to PAY IT ALL! This Easter deal with what you need to deal with, and do not stay in bondage to the yoke of slavery. Accept God love and Christ’s sacrifice knowing that you do not deserve them, but that is what make them so incredible. Let it be put to death at the cross then offer up yourself and songs of thanksgiving to Christ. Let that be what marks your life, and let that be your peace!

