Tags

,

I know many Christians are so upset with the media for the attention Bruce Jenner has gotten during his transgendering process. I can not scroll through the news or my newsfeed without seeing something about it. This has served as a reminder for me for a few important things. 

  1. This world is not our home. When things come that reflect the heart of rebellion, do not be surprised. We were not made for this world, and our eternal home will not be filled with the same things that break my heart today. “I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but that you keep them from the evil one. They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world. And for their sake I consecrate myself, that they also may be sanctified in truth.” John 17:14-19
  2. The world will always embrace worldly things. It is the idea of live and let live that perpetuates this mentality. If we all allowed everyone to chase their bliss, molesters would never stop, rapists would constantly violate others, and no one could say it was wrong because it makes them happy. The truth is that we all embrace the idea of an absolute “right” or truth in those situations. This lends to the fact that there are absolutes. The Bible is our source for what God deems as absolute truth. We need to seek the Word of God in these times. We do not judge right and wrong, but God does. He gave us His word and that gives us what we need to discern and judge what God says.  Everyone will have an opinion, but that is the only thing that matters. “For the word of the Lord is right and true;
    he is faithful in all he does.” Psalms 33:4
  3. We need to pray more. We need to pray for generations that are reading these articles that preach the doctrine that we have to accept all or we are hateful. I do think that we should hate all sin, BUT we should love the person that is lost. I think we should speak truth to them in love. Again, I think we should pray for them. We should put down our devices and pray. We should not stop praying until we draw our last breath because as long as there is air in someone’s lungs, there is hope. “I desire then that in every place the men should pray, lifting holy hands without anger or quarreling…” 1 Timothy 2:8
  4. You can not shame or scream someone into loving or living for JESUS. “Or do you presume on the riches of his kindness and forbearance and patience, not knowing that God’s kindness is meant to lead you to repentance?” Romans 2:4 We can not express hatred towards anyone and expect them to believe anything about Jesus. Remember a time before you knew Jesus as your Savior. Would that have won you? Would you have believed in a God that was supposed to love you when His people did not?
  5. I come from a family of heroes. I come from a family of people who served in the military and would have willingly given their lives to keep their country safe and secure. That is not the only way to be courageous. Courage is not about us though. I think we give credit too easily and use these kinds of words inappropriately. When I think about real courage, I think it involves sacrifice for the well being of others that does not seek recognition. It only seeks to set self aside for the higher purpose of sacrificing for others. I do not think Bruce Jenner is a hero. I think he made a decision to do something that would have left him shunned 50 years ago, but society today has embraced him and accepted him. 
  6. There is a huge difference between loving someone and making them your project. People can always tell when someone is disingenuous in their actions. You can not just love someone in words. Building relationships and friendships with lost people is not the same as making someone a goal. Wanting someone to know the hope you do is much different than adding more gold stars to your “spiritual report card.” Loving someone does not mean that you have think everything they do is right, but is does have to come from a place that is honest and deeply cares. “I say this not as a command, but to prove by the earnestness of others that your love also is genuine. For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sake he became poor, so that you by his poverty might become rich.” 2 Corinthians 8:8-9

Whether it is a hot button social issue getting world wide attention or a friend struggling, we need to constantly be seeking God’s truth, praying, and shining a light in the darkest places. “Let all that you do be done in love.” 1 Corinthians 16:14


