Tags

,

This morning I was up early. I do not usually “do” early, but as my last post indicated, I am working on fixing that. This was my second day at it, and both mornings started with yard work -clearing flower beds and the planting area that lines our walkway to be exact. 

As I was working to pull out some of the weeds and grass that grew there I began to think. I had my Passion Worship Band Pandora station on, and it was on point. I was listening to the music and feeling it wash over me. I thought about the roots I separated from the soil. I thought about the word rooted, and these verses came to mind:

“For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth is named, that according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith-that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.” Ephesians 3:14-19

You see, I’m pulling up grass and noticing how deep the roots run, how they go in every direction, and how tightly they cling to the soil. I raised my head a little to see our yard that is covered in beautiful, plush grass and thought about how hard it would be to rip it all up. Even if you got out all the actual green grass, I think it’d be impossible to get out every bit of root. 

Rooted and grounded in love. 

Then I thought about me. I thought about how hard life has seemed over the last year. I thought about how deeply my roots ran. In the face of such trying and testing times, how rooted was I? It has seemed at times that a brisk breeze could have easily detach my roots and sent me out into nothingness. My roots had retracted as I pulled into myself instead of sinking into the God who sustains me. I had not started by sinking myself deeper in His love. 

It really struck me hard. I had spent a good amount of time and effort ripping all this out because it was clinging so tightly that it was not going to go without resistance. What tenacity spoken by something without a voice!

I then thought about the body of Christ like the yard full of grass. How different would the world look if we sunk in alongside each other, twisting and wrapping our roots into God’s love? Would we ever be able to be ripped up as the body of Christ deeply rooted in the Lord and holding each other down when our roots were tested?

Yesterday I listened to Oceans by Hillsong United and had a very great time of worship with just me and God in my living room. I love that song, and as I sang, I felt the weight in the lyrics as I thought about my life. 

I have gone into an unknown situation in a big way, and my heart has surely failed at times. When things seemed most hard, my faith, though not removed, did not stand with the resolve of someone who had seen God’s goodness in their life at every turn. I did not always rest or sink into God. I did not always recognize His grace that covered and guided me. I gave into fear and loneliness and anger. 

He was still good. He has still never failed me. He still loves me, and that is truly beyond my understanding. I am not now nor have I ever been deserving of that kind of love, and I certainly did not honor it by not leaning into it. He sustains. He established, and if I really believe that I have to believe that even when I feel blown around and can’t keep my head above the waves that crash and threaten to sweep me away, He is in it. He is allowing it for my good and His glory. 

I can look back and see His hands in the hard times and know that those same hands have held me up. They did not let me fall. I am sure I will see more and more why this stepping into the unknown was what He had for me and us, but even if I don’t ever fully understand, I will trust in His grace and timing. 

All that laid upon my heart as I worked this morning. If I did not have enough reason to keep striving to get up early, new revelation and reminders of God’s grace and love will be all the spark I need to get me up!

I am thankful, and pray that we all would be more rooted and grounded in God’s love especially when nothing else makes sense, and everything feels hard. 

