Tags

, ,

I love my babies. I have been praying for them before the moment they existed, and from the moment I knew they were growing and living in me, I prayed this part of scripture over them:

“The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.”  – Numbers 6:24-26

Every day of their lives I have prayed this over them. It’s what I prayed over them the first time I held them. I have prayed it thousands of times, and the fruit of that was realized in one way today. 

I was rocking Lauren at nap time after reading to her and praying with her. I always give her the opportunity to pray about anything she wants to, and in the last several months, she always prays for her baby brother this way:

“God bless the baby in momma’s tummy. In the precious name of Jesus, Amen.”

It’s so sweet and simple, and it always blesses me. Today was different though. Today she went on to pray Numbers 6:24-26 while her sweet little hand rested on my tummy. She kissed my tummy after, and I told her how proud I am of her. I tucked her into her bed, and then prayed a prayer of thanksgiving. 

I have never intentionally tried to help her learn those verses, but they are written on her heart at four years old because it was in my heart to always pray blessings over her. 

Today she passed that desire to pray blessing onto her baby brother, and the joy that is exploding in my heart is something that I don’t have words for. 

I’m writing this to say that I am thankful for what God put before me to pray over my children that they might be raised as filled vessels whose lives will praise His glorious grace.

Be encouraged friends to know that what God has put in you to pour out from His truth and wisdom over your children will reap beautiful fruit in them and the kingdom of God. 

I can wait because it’s going so fast, but moments like this make me feel like I can’t wait to see who my children will become because of who God is and what I see Him bringing about in them. 

I am thankful and encouraged to press on with tending to and being a part of sheparding their hearts. 

